https://www.colegiosanpatriciomadrid.com/en/colegio/qOr_inic.php

Origin and History - The Beginning

The Serrano Centre

San Patricio School San Patricio was first opened in 1958, on 200 Serrano Street in Madrid, as an officially recognised Teaching Centre, under the Education Act of 1953, amended in 1957. Its founders were four dynamic and enterprising people who, with courage and a vision for the future, were ahead of their time: Ms Luisa Murias, Ms Luz Murias, Mr Jaime Marugán and Mr Gabriel Castellano. They had marked personalities that were as different as they were complementary. They made up the first Governing Board of San Patricio, and left a clear impression on the School from the beginning; an enduring example and spirit.

An open school, with an avant-garde spirit and Anglo-Saxon approach, it was created based on three guidelines: being a Catholic school, working with a small number of students per classroom, and offering English language classes from an early age. The combination of the first and last of these three characteristics is the fundamental reason for the Irish connotation in the school’s name.

The idea of carrying out mixed teaching based on Christian values, with a clear customised approach and focus on immersion in the English language and culture, attracted so much attention that San Patricio quickly grew and established itself. But it was not solely due to the very innovative and atypical approach for that time; it was also thanks to the good work of the Technical Management and a very well-chosen teaching staff, as well as the generalised satisfaction of our first families who, firmly believing in the project, “entrusted their children to San Patricio”.

In order to designate the pre-school and primary education courses, the English terms “Nursery” and “School” were used from the outset - also establishing an English half-day schedule, taught by native Irish teachers. The 4th and 6th grade examinations, which were part of the study plans at the time, granted students the titles of High School Graduate and Senior High School Graduate, respectively, and gave graduates access to the pre-university course (the “Preu”) and to the subsequent test, as prerequisites for their transition to university. In June 1967, following brilliant results in the 6th grade examination, the 1960-1961 school year students prepared their entrance examination for the baccalaureate, saying goodbye to the School. This was the first group of students to have concluded their studies at this School, and the only one to complete the entire baccalaureate program in the Serrano premises.